School Organisation

School Organisation

There are three school buildings consisting of the Primary Department, Secondary Department and Post 16 Department.

We have 19 classes within the three departments.

Pupils are grouped by key stage, ability and individual needs including:

  • Foundation Phase, KS2, KS3, KS4 and Post16.

  • Pupils with Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties are grouped to ensure their particular needs for a sensory curriculum are met alongside their medical needs

  • Pupils with Autism Spectrum Disorder are integrated as much as possible into key stage groups or depending on the individual needs of the pupil can be taught in a designated group.

  • Inclusion opportunities in mainstream lessons in local; schools and colleges are provided when deemed suitable.

  • Class sizes are significantly smaller than in mainstream school with a high staff pupil ratio.  There is an average of 6-13 pupils in each class with 3-6 staff depending on the needs and abilities of pupils in that particular class.